Wonderworking icon brough to parish in River Rouge
RIVER ROUGE, MI -- With the blessing of Archbishop Peter of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia's Diocese of Chicago & Mid-America, the Wonderworking "Kursk Root" Icon of the Mother of God visited Christ the Savior Orthodox Church (All Saints Mission) Parish on Friday, March 9, 2018 in River Rouge. The parish opened their doors to share this special experience with their neighbors, community and special guests.
Fr. Gregory Joyce, administrator of the parish, along with Christ the Savior’s new Interim Rector, Fr. Daneil Shirak, led the Icon in procession into the building and up to the Chapel as a group of faithful witnessed and participated. An inspiring Akathist Service was celebrated during which everyone in attendance was allowed the opportunity to pray before the icon. At the end of the service, Fr. Gregory shared some of the history of this holy relic, and then everyone enjoyed fellowship at a small reception where blessed icon cards bearing the image of the Kursk Root Icon were distributed to all in attendance.
The Kursk Root Icon (also Our Lady of Kursk) is an icon of Theotokos of the Sign, apparently painted in the thirteenth century and discovered in a forest near Kursk sometime around the year 1300. It was preserved in the Black Hermitage of the Roots, an abbey founded on the spot of its discovery, from where it was regularly taken in procession to Kurskin, involving thousands of peasants and pilgrims. The icon incorporates as many as twelve figures on it: Theotokos, Infant Christ, God the Father above them (with the Holy Spirit as a dove) and nine Old Testament prophets. After the Russian Revolution, the icon was brought by the White Army outside of Russia to New York, where it is now entrusted to the care of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia.